Guest Writer 1

Below is a post that my friend and fellow classmate Kati Ann Wright posted and allowed me to share on my blog. Throughout Kati Ann’s blog, she makes some really good point and I thought that this post was amazing. I really liked her own definition about social media and enjoyed reading the other one’s she choose as well. I enourage you to check out more of her posts at katiann4710.wordpress.com. Thank you Kati Ann for being my guest writer!

Most of us know what Twitter is. And if you’re reading this out there and don’t, you should. Basically, on twitter you can update your “status” to say anything you would like, but the catch is, it can only be up to 140 characters in length.  

  

Difficult at times? Yes! But, the key is to write only the most important and vital information. It’s just like a billboard. We all know that what an advertiser wants to say on a billboard, must be short, precise, and should be of some sort of importance to the reader. There’s only so much time before someone driving a car will pass a billboard, making it that much harder for an advertiser to figure out just how to word the meaning their trying to get across. It must be big and bold. Twitter has the same idea.  

  

      

  • An article my social media professor picked out to discuss this week is found on Adam Vincenzini’s blog post.  He posted as you will see on his site a request on Twitter for people of communication to come up with their own definition of “social media” in 140 characters. Here are a few of my favorite from the Vincenzini’s request.
  •  

  

      

  1. @leeodden Social media is technology that facilitates community & word of mouth. But what makes the social web work are the people
  2.   

  3. @DannyBrown Social media is the human engine oil. It doesn’t matter if you’re a Mini or Mercedes, you get an equal shot to compete in the race
  4.   

  5. @SuzieLin SM is all about interacting & engaging to build relationships. It allows the world to connect & facilitates the exchange of info & ideas.
  6.   

  7. @BarbaraNixon Social Media provides a new way for us to listen to, learn from, laugh with, and (lol) even loathe each other.
  8.   

  9. @lindsaydavies Social media is 21st century communication. It’s open, collaborative, shared, barrierless, informative, entertaining, rapid and evolving
  10.  

Why did I pick these 5 out of the 140 others?  

leeodden hit the nail on the head when they stated it involves “community” and “word of mouth,” and its so true that social media would not exist if it were not for the people to back it up.  

DannyBrown defined social media in a very cute way that I felt was true for all of us. Whether were a beginner in social networking or a social networking genius, were all in it together.  

Suzielin defined social media based on relationships. I love this because its a way of interacting and building with one another to get ideas and information out there.  

BarbaraNixon, which just so happens to be my social media professor, I felt defined social media by pointing out the feelings we are all feeling. Frustration, happiness, and learning all in one, check yes!  

And lindsaydavies, what did this author’s definition of social media leave out? Nothing. She pretty much summed it up.  

Now after reviewing all of these definitions for social media I will have to conclude this topic with one of my own.  

katiannwright@SM is the daily necessity alongside my coffee. It tells me whats going on, who’s doing what, and I learn something new every time I log in!………How’s that?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Guest Writer 1

  1. Meghan,
    Thank you so much for alowing me to be a part of your blog! I really enjoyed writing that post, as I felt that it was interesting to see all of the different types of scenario’s and definitions people came up with when describing social media in only 140 characters. My picture of the Chick-fil-a billboard represents just how important it is to fill in key words in a small space so that it, 1. catches your readers eye and 2. your reader can read it!
    Its hard driving down the road and trying to read catching advertisements and billboards at the same time. I felt like this compared to twitter in many similar situations. When one is posting something of importance to a broad audience in 140 characters, they must choose their words wisely. Thanks again for sharing my thoughts with your people.
    -Kati Ann

  2. Meghan,
    Thank you so much for allowing me to be a part of your blog! I really enjoyed writing that post, as I felt that it was interesting to see all of the different types of scenario’s and definitions people came up with when describing social media in only 140 characters. My picture of the Chick-fil-a billboard represents just how important it is to fill in key words in a small space so that it, 1. catches your readers eye and 2. your reader can read it!
    Its hard driving down the road and trying to read catching advertisements and billboards at the same time. I felt like this compared to twitter in many similar situations. When one is posting something of importance to a broad audience in 140 characters, they must choose their words wisely. Thanks again for sharing my thoughts with your people.
    -Kati Ann

Leave a Reply

